Wyndham Championship Preview

Tour Coverage Sponsored by The TriState PGA.

We will not see many of the  biggest names in Golf this week at the Wyndham as most players are gearing up for the Playoffs.  What we will see is the players that are on the Bubble trying to break into the top 125 to qualify for the Fed Ex Cup Playoff Run.

This week, there are a whole host of names trying to either stay in the top 125 or slide into that group.   Here is that list below.

Bubble Group

Pos.       Player                                 Pts. behind 125   In field?
122        Jhonattan Vegas                +30                       Yes
123        Seamus Power                   +13                       Yes
124        Martin Piller                       +7                         Yes
125        Tyrone Van Aswegen         –                            Yes
126        Chad Campbell                  3                           Yes
127        Robert Garrigus                 11                         Yes
128        Corey Conners                   20                         Yes
129        Nick Taylor                         24                         Yes
130        Tom Lovelady                    32                         Yes
131        Sergio Garcia                      33                         Yes
132        Harris English                     37                         Yes
133        Lucas Glover                      40                         No
134        Ben Silverman                    41                         Yes
135        Derek Fathauer                  48                         Yes
One of the names above that jump off the page to us all is Sergio Garcia.   No doubt he has not had a great season, but to see him out of the top 125 players on the Fed Ex Cup list is not an expected outcome for a player of his talent and stature.
The Course
This the last tournament before the Playoff run begins.   The Wyndham Championship is being played at Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro NC.
Sedgefield was one of the original homes of this tournament which started back in 1938 as the Greensboro Open.  The course was originally designed by one of the games Greatest Course Architects, Donald Ross. Sedgefield was recently restored by the Don Ross Restoration team back in 2008 and will play this week just over 7100.
Favorites This week
Some of the favorites this week include Henrik Stenson, Webb Simpson, and Hideki Matsuyama.   Stenson comes into this week ranked 50th and Matsuyama ranked 88th, both firmly qualified for the playoff run.
Webb Simpson sits 12th Fed Ex Cup points which not only earned him his Playoff Spot, but also the final position on this Year’s Ryder Cup Squad for the US.   Simpson has had a really good season and it would not surprise anyone if he were to win this week.
Simpson has six top tens this year including a Win at the Players Championship, a 5th place finish at RBC Heritage, and a 4th at the Sony in Hawaii.  Did we also mention that of Webb’s five PGA Tour Victories, one was this tournament.
Another player I believe to have a shot this week is Billy Horschel.  He has been playing well in recent weeks including a 2nd and 4th place finish in the last 6 tournaments.  He finished tied for 35th this past week.  Even when he has missed the cut recently, he finished under par.

Tee Times

No. 1 Tee

7 a.m. — Andres Romero, Tom Hoge, J.T. Poston

7:10 a.m. — Cameron Tringale, Cameron Percy, Ryan Blaum

7:20 a.m. — John Merrick, Tylelr Duncan, Corey Conners

7:30 a.m. — Satoshi Kodaira, Aaron Baddeley, Shane Lowry

7:40 a.m. — Ryan Armour, Graeme McDowell, Davis Love III

7:50 a.m. — Brendan Steele, Rod Pampling, Ernie Els

8 a.m. — Hudson Swafford, Cody Gribble, Sangmoon Bae

8:10 a.m. — Whee Kim, Trey Mullinax, James Driscoll

8:20 a.m. — Jason Bohn, Parker McLachlin, Dicky Pride

8:30 a.m. — Chesson Hadley, Harris English, John Huh

8:40 a.m. — Stuart Appleby, Brian Davis, Shawn Stefani

8:50 a.m. — Ben Silverman, Denny McCarthy, Doug Ghim

9 a.m. — Xinjun Zhang, Andrew Yun, Mickey DeMorat

12 p.m. — David Hearn, Kris Blanks, Abraham Ancer

12:10 p.m. — Scott Stallings, Ken Duke, Harold Varner III

12:20 p.m. — Hunter Mahan, Chad Campbell, Seamus Power

12:30 p.m. — Chris Stroud, Grayson Murray, Jim Furyk

12:40 p.m. — Daniel Berger, Jason Dufner, Bill Haas

12:50 p.m. — Henrik Stenson, Jhonattan Vegas, Ryan Moore

1 p.m. — Jonas Blixt, Vaughn Taylor, Fabian Gomez

1:10 p.m. — J.J. Henry, Robert Garrigus, Peter Uihlein

1:20 p.m. — Danny Lee, Brendon de Jonge, Daniel Summerhays

1:30 p.m. — Robert Streb, Jonathan Byrd, Bronson Burgoon

1:40 p.m. — Adam Schenk, Matt Akins, John Oda

1:50 p.m. — Tom Lovelady, Roberto Diaz, Charles Frost

2 p.m. — Talor Gooch, Stephan Jaeger, T.J. Vogel

No. 10 Tee

7 a.m. — Alex Cejka, Matt Jones, Tommy Gainey

7:10 a.m. — Johnson Wagner, Zac Blair, Sam Saunders

7:20 a.m. — Nick Taylor, Martin Flores, Tyrone Van Aswegen

7:30 a.m. — Russell Henley, D.A. Points, Billy Hurley III

7:40 a.m. — Billy Horschel, Hideki Matsuyama, Brandt Snedeker

7:50 a.m. — Webb Simpson, Si Woo Kim, Sergio Garcia

8 a.m. — Scott Piercy, William McGirt, Chris Kirk

8:10 a.m. — Martin Laird, Dominic Bozzelli, Joaquin Niemann

8:20 a.m. — George McNeill, Jason Kokrak, Brandon Harkins

8:30 a.m. — Rafa Cabrera Bello, Kevin Tway, Sam Ryder

8:40 a.m. — Sean O’Hair, Retief Goosen, Matthew Fitzpatrick

8:50 a.m. — Brett Stegmaier, Kyle Thompson, Julian Suri

9 a.m. — Lanto Griffin, Conrad Shindler, Norman Xiong

12 p.m. — Ricky Barnes, Ollie Schniederjans, Martin Piller

12:10 p.m. — Rory Sabbatini, Sung Kang, Blayne Barber

12:20 p.m. — Michael Thompson, Patrick Rodgers, Richy Werenski

12:30 p.m. — Wesley Bryan, David Lingmerth, Brian Gay

12:40 p.m. — Mackenzie Hughes, Brian Stuard, Scott Brown

12:50 p.m. — Peter Malnati, Padraig Harrington, Nick Watney

1 p.m. — Brice Garnett, Matt Every, Steve Stricker

1:10 p.m. — Ben Crane, Derek Fathauer, Keith Mitchell

1:20 p.m. — Carl Pettersson, Arjun Atwal, Jamie Lovemark

1:30 p.m. — Steve Wheatcroft, Shane Bertsch, C.T. Pan

1:40 p.m. — Ethan Tracy, Will Zalatoris, Dylan Meyer

1:50 p.m. — Rob Oppenheim, Nicholas Lindheim, Doc Redman

2 p.m. — Jonathan Randolph, Zecheng Dou, Stewart Jolly




Author: Jhavelka