Daniel McCarthy With the Win At the Frank B. Fuhrer Jr. Invitational


After an hour-and-15 minute rain delay, Daniel McCarthy would shoot a final round 1-under for the win as he took advantage of a faltering David Bradshaw. The win was McCarthy’s first victory at the Frank B. Fuhrer Jr. Invitational at the Pittsburgh Field Club.

Here is the list of the past winners.

2017 – T.J. Howe
2016 – David Bradshaw
2015 – David Bradshaw
2014 – Eric Cole
2013 – Michael Van Sickle
2012 – David Bradshaw
2011 – Ryan Sikora
2010 – John Aber
2009 – Nathan Smith (a)
2008 – Bob Friend
2007 – Ryan Sikora
2006 – Kevin Shields
2005 – Nathan Smith (a)
2004 – Brad Westfall
2003 – Kevin Shields
2002 – Sean Farren
2001 – Brad Westfall
2000 – Sean Knapp (a)
1999 – Bob Ford
1998 – Jason Tyska
1997 – John Mazza
1996 – Sean Knapp (a)
1995 – Sean Knapp (a)
1994 – John Aubrey
1993 – John Mazza
1992 – Dan Fabian
1991 – Ned Weaver
1990 – Bob Ford
1989 – Kent Stauffer
1988 – Bob Ford
1987 – Harry Toscano
1986 – Frank Fuhrer, III
1985 – Bob Ford

David Bradshaw, a three time winner here at the Invitational, came into the final round with a two-stroke lead at 6-under with McCarthy, Schall and Mellon within reach.  Bradshaw went into the back-nine leading, and then trouble struck.

Bradshaw could not maintain His strong play and would finish with three bogeys on the back which would open the door for the rest of the field.

Dan McCarthy came into the final round 2 back of the lead. Although he had an up and down day which included four bogeys and two birdies, his two birdies on the final three holes was the difference.

McCarthy would also be the only player to shoot under par in today’s round and one of only three that would finish in the red for the tournament.  His finish rewarded him with a check for $40k.

TJ Howe was the defending champion and was in contention again coming into the final round.  But a disappointing 2-over par round would take him out of contention.

Spenser Mellon would shoot a 4-over par round and he would finish at +1 for the tournament.

Another former winner, Mike Van Sickle was the top local product, tied for eighth.  Here is the rest of the leaderboard.



Author: Jhavelka