USGA Announces 23 Additional Players Exempt for 118th U.S. Open Championship

Official USGA Release:

U.S. Amateur champions Matthew Fitzpatrick, Bryson DeChambeau
and Peter Uihlein among latest group


LIBERTY CORNER, N.J. (May 21, 2018) – The United States Golf Association (USGA) today announced that 23 additional golfers, including U.S. Amateur champions Matthew Fitzpatrick, Bryson DeChambeau and Peter Uihlein, have earned full exemptions into the 2018 U.S. Open Championship, to be played June 14-17 at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club in Southampton, N.Y. These exemptions bring the number of fully exempt players to 77.


All 23 exemptions were awarded to players who earned a place in the top 60 of the Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR) as of May 21. DeChambeau, who won the 2015 U.S. Amateur, is ranked No. 39. He will compete in his fourth U.S. Open. Fitzpatrick, who is also competing in his fourth U.S. Open, claimed the 2013 U.S. Amateur and is ranked No. 40. Uihlein, who won the 2010 U.S. Amateur, is ranked No. 59 and will play in his third U.S. Open.


The other players who earned full exemptions through the current Official World Golf Ranking are: Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Rafael Cabrera Bello, Ross Fisher, Dylan Frittelli, Branden Grace, Chesson Hadley, Tyrrell Hatton, Charles Howell III, Satoshi Kodaira, Alexander Levy, Haotong Li, Luke List, Francesco Molinari, Alex Noren, Louis Oosthuizen, Ian Poulter, Chez Reavie, Cameron Smith, Charl Schwartzel and Brendan Steele.


At No. 19, Noren is the highest-ranked player in the current OWGR who was not previously exempt into the U.S. Open. Noren, who has captured nine European PGA Tour titles and lost to Jason Day in a playoff at the PGA Tour’s Farmers Insurance Open in January, will compete in his sixth U.S. Open.


Hadley moved up two spots from the previous world ranking to No. 60 as of this week. Hadley, who will play in his first U.S. Open, won the PGA Tour’s Puerto Rico Open in 2014 and posted two of his four Tour victories last year.


The winner of the European Tour’s BMW PGA Championship (May 24-27) will also earn an exemption. The number of fully exempt golfers may increase with the addition of the top 60 players from the OWGR as of Monday, June 11.


The first of two international sectional qualifiers for the 2018 U.S. Open was held on May 21, in Japan, where three spots in the 156-player field were determined. England will host qualifying for the 14th consecutive year on Monday, June 4. Those players who qualify are in addition to the 77 fully exempt players listed below.


Sectional qualifying in the United States, at 36 holes, will take place at 10 sites on Monday, June 4. The sites are: Lake Merced Golf Club & The Olympic Club (Ocean Course), Daly City, Calif.; The Bear’s Club, Jupiter, Fla.; Ansley Golf Club (Settindown Creek Course), Roswell, Ga.; Woodmont Country Club (North Course), Rockville, Md.; Canoe Brook Country Club (North and South Courses), Summit, N.J.; Brookside Golf & Country Club & Lakes Golf & Country Club, Columbus, Ohio; Springfield (Ohio) Country Club; Portland (Ore.) Golf Club; Ridgeway Country Club & Colonial Country Club (South Course), Memphis, Tenn.; and Shadow Hawk Golf Club, Richmond, Texas.


Shinnecock Hills Golf Club is the lone club to have hosted the U.S. Open in three different centuries. In 1896, James Foulis won the second U.S. Open with a three-stroke victory over Horace Rawlins. Raymond Floyd (1986) and Corey Pavin (1995) were U.S. Open champions in the 20th century. Retief Goosen held off Phil Mickelson to win his second U.S. Open in 2004.


A list of the 77 golfers fully exempt into the 2018 U.S. Open as of May 21 (not including the three international sectional qualifiers from Japan) is below. It can also be found at this link:


More information about the 2018 U.S. Open at Shinnecock Hills, including local and sectional qualifying, is available at


The list of the 77 golfers who are fully exempt into the 2018 U.S. Open (as of May 21):


Kiradech Aphibarnrat 13 Marc Leishman 12, 13
Daniel Berger 12, 13 Alexander Levy 13
Rafael Cabrera Bello 13 Haotong Li 13
Patrick Cantlay 12, 13 Luke List 13
Paul Casey 12, 13 Hideki Matsuyama 11, 12, 13
Kevin Chappell 12, 13 Graeme McDowell 1
Jason Day 7, 8, 12, 13 Rory McIlroy 1, 6, 7, 13
Bryson DeChambeau 13 Phil Mickelson 6, 13
Jason Dufner 7, 12, 13 Francesco Molinari 13
a-Harry Ellis 3 Trey Mullinax 11
Ernie Els 15 Alex Noren 13
Tony Finau 12, 13 Louis Oosthuizen 13
Ross Fisher 13 a-Matt Parziale 2
Matthew Fitzpatrick 13 Pat Perez 12, 13
Tommy Fleetwood 11, 13 Kenny Perry 10
Rickie Fowler 11, 12, 13 Ian Poulter 13
Dylan Frittelli 13 Jon Rahm 12, 13
Jim Furyk 15 Chez Reavie 13
Sergio Garcia 5, 12, 13 a-Doc Redman 2
a-Doug Ghim 2 Patrick Reed 5, 12, 13
Lucas Glover 1 Justin Rose 1, 12, 13
a-Noah Goodwin 2 Xander Schauffele 11, 12, 13
Branden Grace 13 Charl Schwartzel 13
Bill Haas 11 Webb Simpson 1, 8, 12, 13
Chesson Hadley 13 Cameron Smith 13
Adam Hadwin 12, 13 Brandt Snedeker 11
Brian Harman 11, 12, 13 Jordan Spieth 1, 5, 6, 12, 13
Tyrrell Hatton 13 Kyle Stanley 12, 13
Russell Henley 12, 13 Brendan Steele 13
Charley Hoffman 11, 12, 13 Henrik Stenson 6, 13
Charles Howell III 13 Justin Thomas 7, 11, 12, 13
Dustin Johnson 1 Peter Uihlein 13
Zach Johnson 6, 13 Jhonattan Vegas 12
Martin Kaymer 1 Jimmy Walker 7, 13
Si Woo Kim 8, 13 Bubba Watson 5, 13
Kevin Kisner 12, 13 Danny Willett 5
Satoshi Kodaira 13 Gary Woodland 12, 13
Brooks Koepka 1, 11, 12, 13 Tiger Woods 1
Matt Kuchar 12, 13


Bold – U.S. Open champion      a-amateur


Key to Player Exemptions:

  1. Winners of the U.S. Open Championship the last 10 years (2008-17)
  2. Winner of the 2017 U.S. Amateur, U.S. Junior Amateur & U.S. Mid-Amateur Championships and 2017 U.S. Amateur Championship runner-up (must be an amateur)
  3. Winner of the 2017 Amateur Championship, conducted by The R&A (must be an amateur)
  4. Winner of the 2017 Mark H. McCormack Medal (top-ranked in WAGR & must be an amateur)
  5. Winners of the Masters Tournament the last five years (2014-18)
  6. Winners of The Open Championship, conducted by The R&A, the last five years (2013-17)
  7. Winners of the PGA of America Championship the last five years (2013-17)
  8. Winners of The Players Championship the last three years (2016-18)
  9. Winner of the 2018 European Tour BMW PGA Championship
  10. Winner of the 2017 U.S. Senior Open Championship
  11. From the 2017 U.S. Open Championship, the 10 lowest scorers and anyone tying for 10th place
  12. Those players who qualified for the season-ending 2017 Tour Championship
  13. Top 60 point leaders and ties from the current World Ranking as of May 21, 2018
  14. Top 60 point leaders and ties from the current World Ranking as of June 11, 2018
  15. Special exemptions selected by the USGA

Author: Jhavelka