US Open and Oakmont History By The Numbers

Velocity Robo AdUS Open coverage – Presented by Velocity Robotics, Check out their entire line of Tools for the Next Generation Contractor and Do-it-Yourselfer.  

For those of you out there that enjoy golf and watch week to week, but never really did any digging with regards to the history of the US Open.  Here is some good historical information about our great Golf Championship and little about Oakmont.

First off, the Champion of the US Open receives 10 years exemption in the US Open, along with 5 invites to the Masters, the Open Championship, the PGA Championships and Players Championship.   You will also receive exempt status on the PGA tour for the next 5 years.  Winning that the Open is a big deal and can provide a player with a real future if he is able to overcome the many obstacles ahead of him with regards to winning a US Open.

Ernie Els leads all active players with 23 straight appearances, with Mickelson sitting at 22 and Western Pennsylvania’s own Jim Furyk with 20.

The Youngest winner of a US Open was 19 year old John McDermott in 1911.  There are a total of 9 players 21 years old or younger that have won, while  Hale Irwin was the oldest champion at the ripe old age of 45 in 1990.

Four players have won the US Open 4 times including Willie Anderson, Robert Trent Jones Jr. (Actually did work on the course during his golf course building career, not to mention designed the Jones course at Oglebay in 1970-71.  Locals called it Speidel for years before referring to it as the Jones course again once Arnold Palmer designed the second Championship course on the property.) Ben Hogan, and of course the Golden Bear Jack Nicklaus.

Both Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer serve as honorary chair people this year of the open.  Palmer is a Western Pennsylvania staple, born and raised.  Oakmont has hosted the US Open more than any other course  in the country.  Oakmont has served as home to the Open in 1927,35,53,62,73,83,94,2007 and now in 2016.  They have also hosted 7 other USGA Championships including 5 time US Amateur and 2 time US Womens Open.  Not to mention 3 PGA Championships.

Tommy Armour won in 27,Sam parks in 35, Ben Hogan 53, Jack Nicklaus in 62, Johnny Miller in 73, Larry Nelson in 83, Ernie Els in 94, and Angel Cabrera in 2007.

Oakmont is home to the longest Par 3 in US Open history on number 8 at 300 yards. Actually they have the top three and it was the same hole three separate years.  Also has the second longest par five on 12 at 667 yards.

Some interesting little tidbits:Martin Kaymer was the last International player to win the Open, he was also the last to win leading start to finish. Curtis Strange was the last to defend his US Open.  Geoff Ogilvy is the last winner of the open that won without shooting a round in the 60’s. I mention that because this is the type of course that could produce the same results this year.


Author: Jhavelka

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *